Wear a Sheer Shirt Dress Without Feeling Overexposed: How to

Hiya lovelies. Way over a couple of months ago, I came across a close to perfect sheer oversized button-down shirt at a friend’s shop and right then I made a mental note to write about sheer clothing and shirt dresses. However, life happened and I forgot and for some reason, I always chose to postpone it every time I remembered. Until today.

So, SHEER. Sheer is one of the most popular trends out there today but several people are intimidated by sheer because they feel it shows off too much skin among other reasons. Personally, I do not mind showing off only a little skin. A shirt dress basically, is a longer version of a shirt, usually button-down, slightly oversized, that looks like a shirt but can be worn as a dress. In all honesty, I think this is just a T-shirt, lol. Please share what you think in the comments below.

For this look, I wore white cotton shorts under the sheer shirt, a pair of brown cut sheer socks (that I cut myself) and simple  nude heels. You DO NOT want to overdo it with sheer clothing. So this is how you could pull yours off without showing too much.

Wear prints

Prints make sheer fabrics appear less transparent. The busier the print, the harder it is to see through so you don’t have to worry so much about what is lying underneath.

Choose pieces with sheer bits and panels that won’t expose your underwear. If strapless bras aren’t an option for you, choose something nude with a simple strap and then look for sheer fabrics with a little texture or print to hide the straps underneath.

Layer a sheer button-up over a bra or camisole then add pants for a more conservative look or a skirt for something a little sexier.

Most importantly, wear dark underwear.

Also, this post is from my drafts pile. I will be publishing one every week 😉

 Photos to share

_dsc0656

_dsc0722

_dsc0672

_dsc06521

6tag_110916-1306121

instagramcapture_714db8c3-c6d9-4b9a-8e97-591975e0535e1

Thanks for passing by. Until next post, take care.

xx

Jordana A

Leave a comment